© 2021 WFIT
Public Radio for the Space Coast
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Brevard Symphony Orchestra Presents - Subscription Concert 3 - Matinee Performance


Saturday, January 17, 2015 | 2:00 pm
Saturday, January 17, 2015 | 8:00 pm

King Center for the Performing Arts

Steve Kornicki – Fanfare in a Continuum of Gradual Crescendo (World Premiere)

Edward Elgar – Cello Concerto (Allison Eldredge)

Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 1

Finnish master Jean Sibelius’s First Symphony was premiered at the end of the 19th century. It’s a passionate work, with some nods to the romanticism of Tchaikovsky and other Russian masters, while still evoking its own unique sound and style.

Sir Edward Elgar’s lyrical and dramatic Cello Concerto is performed by internationally-acclaimed cellist Allison Eldredge. The concert opens with the world premiere of Brevard County resident Steven Kornicki’s rhythmically charged fanfare.