© 2021 WFIT
Public Radio for the Space Coast
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Live Music

Space Coast Symphony Orchestra Presents Tchaikosky’s Piano Concerto Feb 6 & 7

Space Coast Symphony Orchestra

The Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major has been considered one of Anton Bruckner's most popular works ever since its first performance, in Vienna in 1881, when the composer was reportedly called out to take a bow after each movement.   Your Space Coast Symphony performs a breathtaking work from the Viennese symphonic master Anton Bruckner.  A showcase for the SCSO's horn section, Bruckner’s expansive “Romantic” Symphony will take listeners on a spectacular journey through the Austrian countryside.  From the opening horn call to the blazing conclusion, it is a dynamic and thrilling orchestral display.  The second half of the concert features virtuoso pianist Tsu-yi Chen.  Celebrated around the world, Chen performs Tchaikovsly's powerful Piano Concerto No. 1. In 1875, critics and soloists deemed Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto technically unplayable, but now orchestras and pianists perform it across the globe. With its explosive opening chords and lyrical melodies, Tchaikovsky composed a concerto for the ages.  His first piano concerto contains bold, dramatic keystrokes that produce rippling passages of beautiful music.

Dr. Tsu-yi Chen, piano
Hal Gibson, guest conductor

WAGNER Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral from "Lohengrin"
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 4
TCHAIKOVSKY Piano Concerto No. 1

For more information and to purchase tickets visit spacecoastsymphony.org